Monthly Archives: February 2022

Purusha avatar – Maha Visnu, Garbhodakasayi Vishnu & Ksirodakasayi Vishnu

purusha avatar vishnu

Krishna is also referred to as ‘Bhagavan Swayam’ in Srimad Bhagavatam, thereby implying that He is the source of all avatars (incarnations) of Godhead. Krishna is ‘Svayam rupa’ or the original supreme personality of Godhead, and is also referred to as ‘puskala’ or the most complete. When various forms of the Supreme Lord manifest their appearance in this material world for various purposes, they are known as ‘avatars’. We have previously discussed the various forms of the Supreme Lord (Svayam rupa, tad ekatma rupa, avesha) and they are known as avatars when they descend from the spiritual to the material world. These various forms of the Supreme Lord are eternally existing in their own spiritual abodes. Avatars can appear through parents, as expansions, or without the help of any agency. For example, Lord Krishna and Ramachandra appeared as the sons of Vasudeva and Dasaratha respectively. Garbhodakasayi Vishnu originates as an expansion of Maha-Vishnu. While among those who appear without help are Matsya and Hamsa avatars. There are six types of avatars of the Supreme Lord namely Purusha, Guna, Lila, Manvantara, Yuga, and Shaktyavesha avatars. In this article, however, we are going to discuss the Purusha avatar of the Lord in detail.

Continue Reading…

Forms of Sri Krishna – Svayam, Ekatma and Avesha

devotee of krishna association chaitanya forms

Srila Rupa Goswami explains in Laghu Bhagavatamrita that Krishna, the Supreme Lord, manifests three kinds of forms. These three kinds of forms are classified as – Svayam rupa, tad-ekatma-rupa, and avesha. Krishna, the Supreme Lord, can manifest Himself into unlimited forms without forsaking His essential oneness. This is confirmed throughout the Vedic scriptures.

Eko vasi sarva-gah Krishna idya
Eko pi san bahudha yo vibhati
(Gopala Tapani Upanishad, Purva 20)

Krishna is the supreme controller who exists everywhere and is worthy of worship. Although He is one, He appears as many.

Vishnu Purana (1.2.3) speaks of the Supreme Lord as ‘ekaneya swarupaya’ – You who have one identity and many. Srimad Bhagavatam (10.40.7) refers to Him ‘bahu murty eka murtikam’ – One Supreme Lord who manifests in multiple forms. The Supreme Lord transforms Himself without changing. There is no contradiction between the Vedic texts emphasizing His oneness and those highlighting His varieties. 

Continue Reading…

Namahatta – Marketplace of the Holy name

namahatta holy name hare krishna

Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura provides a thorough description of ‘Namahatta’ in his newsletter ‘Godruma Kalpatavi’ (the desire-tree groves of Godruma). ‘Godruma’ is the second island of Nabadwip dham representing Kirtana (chanting). Composed about 120 years ago, this newsletter talks of a transcendental market of holy names (Nama-Hatta) wherein the holy names of the Supreme Lord, Sri Krishna, are systematically sold to customers who are willing to accept such a spiritual product. Based upon the currency of one’s faith and devotion for the Supreme Lord, anyone, regardless of one’s caste, creed, background, education, nobility, religion, etc is qualified to purchase the holy name from Namahatta. This article outlines the commodities, modes of Payment, and the roles and responsibilities of various devotees in charge of Namahatta, as described by Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakur in his Godruma Kalpatavi.

Continue Reading…

Top 10 Places to visit in Jagannath Puri Dham

jagannath puri dham

Jagannath Puri is located about 60kms from Bhubaneswar, on the coast of the Bay Of Bengal, in the state of Orissa, India. Jagannath Puri is addressed by various names. Some of these names are Sri Kshetra, Purushottama kshetra, Nilachala dham, Jagannath dham, Samanik tirtha, Uddiyan pith, Marta-Vaikuntha, Nilgiri, Niladri, Sankha kshetra, Bhu-svarga, and Nrsimha kshetra. Jagannath Puri is one of the most prominent spiritual sites of India (Bharat). It is said that the Supreme Lord bathes at Badrinath (situated in North India), He changes His clothes at Dwarka (situated in West India), accepts His food at Jagannath Puri (situated in East India), and then proceeds to take rest at Rameshwaram (situated in South India). Here at Jagannath Puri, the Supreme Lord resides in His deity form. Anyone who takes His darsana attains liberation from this material world. By visiting Jagannath Puri, one attains the pious credit of visiting all the other places of pilgrimage. Listed below are some of the exalted places of Jagannath Puri dham.

Continue Reading…